Skip to content

Kindled fire burns my paper backs

June 1, 2011

The high point of my recent past was, buying my new Kindle. I’m excited! The best thing is, it took far fewer adjustments to switch from paper books than I thought it would take. And then, there are some useful things you could do in Kindle that you cannot do with a real book.

An ancient feature, which is, the ability to change font size, turned out very useful in kindle. I was traveling and, a man sitting next to me in the airplane was peeping into my book. I did not mind his curiosity to know the content of the page I was reading but the act itself, that of, breathing down my neck was extremely irritating. So, I acted mean and changed the font size to the smallest available and it was not hard at all for me to read at that size and O’course, it helped getting that gentleman off my back. Text to speech is another cool feature, though I do not use it much. A person I know says, he uses text to speech when driving to work. I think, that is a neat use case. Though, I think, I will not be able to drive when listening to a book.

Now, the most annoying thing with Kindle is, having to deal with the-kid-in-a-candy-store syndrome. I have access to all my books right on my device and also all books I can think of, just a few finger taps away. I do not even need to get up and go to the book shelf to fetch a new book. As a result, I find myself switching between books way too much. One evening, I spent a great deal of time deciding what to read, started book-hopping (if such a phrase exists) and before I could even finish the first 10 pages of the book I finally picked, fell asleep, which, let me assure you, has nothing to do with the content of the book I picked.

Another annoying thing, which is a close second is, there is no way to turn a bunch of pages to skip them. When I’m re-reading a book, I skip boring parts. In kindle, you only get to traverse the book page by page or go to the index and traverse chapter by chapter. This should be very easy for Amazon to fix.

The first thing most people do when they pick up a book is, look at the cover. The next thing is, see the back cover and check out the synopsis and those one line reviews from a famous newspaper or a famous author. I do not see why ebooks would not have back covers when they have front covers. This has to be the second most annoying thing.

Kindle does make up for its little flaws with excellent portability. And then, there are so many free ebooks and, the paid ones are so easily accessible and cost just as much as paper back editions if not lesser. And then, there are e-libraries. It is as easy to read from a kindle as it is to read from a real book. I have read six books so far on my kindle and the e-ink technology totally rocks!

But, I do miss the smell of a book and the sound of turning a page. What? Really! Some books smell particularly good. You would know if you read with books close enough to your nose. But, I have given into the fact that, words in a book are more important than its physical self. I can’t imagine our old book club discussing the smell of an old book versus the smell of a new one, the font, the paper quality, the glossiness of the cover, so on and so forth.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2012 6:12 am

    I do have a kindle as well and since then I’ve kind of hooked on it , love it so much 🙂

  2. June 11, 2012 3:32 am

    It is wonderful device to work with. well thanks for sharing

  3. August 19, 2012 7:17 pm

    Hi,

    I liked your blog. I thought that we could do a few cross blog things.

    Would you be interested in reviewing my new book “Love, Peace and Happiness:What more can you want?”

    I could do an author interview on yours. I could also post your review on my fanpage referenced below which has more than 10,000 fans giving you a whole new set of visitors.

    Let me know if this makes sense for your blog.

    Rituraj Verma, author
    http://www.facebook.com/BookLPH
    http://www.riturajverma.com/blog
    email:riturajverma2005@gmail.com

    PS: I could send you the Kindle version

    • October 2, 2012 10:30 pm

      Hey Rituraj,

      First off, Thank you for liking my blog and sorry for a delay in response. I had been away from my blog for a while.

      When you say “cross-blog things”, what exactly do you have in mind?

      Sure, I can take a look at your book unless it is too late for you.

      DS

Leave a Reply

