Skip to content

Japan

February 15, 2011

As a reader of this blog, you might know that I’m a cinophile. When reading books based in China, I was more than once intrigued by references to Japan. Enough to want to discover a new culture. I could not get many recommendations from people I know for books set in Japan. So if you know of any set during or after WWII, please let me know.

After seeing the movie, ‘The memoirs of Ghesia’ a couple of times, I read the book. The book was not what I was expecting it to be after seeing the movie. The plot was different, the names of a few characters were different. May be it is a personal bias but, I found the book much better.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 23, 2011 3:05 pm

    You could try out a book called “Burnt Shadows”. Its not about Japan per say, but about a Japanese woman, whose fiancee dies in the atomic bomb and traces her life there onwards.

Leave a Reply

